diabetestalk.net

Medtronic Singapore Review

Ex-99.1

Ex-99.1

Medtronic Inc.s Board of Directors formed this special litigation committee (the SLC) to investigate and evaluate sixshareholders claims, made between March 2012 and April 2014, against certain named members of Medtronics Board of Directors, four named officers, and generally described but unnamed individuals. The claims came in three letters demandingaction and in three derivative lawsuits. The allegation at the core of the claims is that Medtronics directors and officers violated their fiduciary duties by wilfully encouraging or consciously allowing its Spine business unit employees andphysician-consultants to engage in a concerted, division-wide course of conduct in violation of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act by promoting one of its medical devices, INFUSE, for uses that the FDA has not approved, and that thisoff-label promotion led to various associated legal violations, such as violations of securities, anti-kickback, and false-claims laws. The SLC has spent eighteen months investigating the claims raised in the demand letters and derivative complaints. It has reviewed thousandsof documents; interviewed sixty witnesses; received reports from counsel, experts, and investigators; considered the applicable law; and deliberated at length. In doing so, the SLC has been mindful of its obligation to undertake a comprehensiveweighing and balancing of the legal, ethical, commercial, professional, public relations, fiscal and other factors common to reasoned business decisions. The SLC has concluded that it is not in Medtronics best interests to pursue any of thederivative claims against any of the current or former officers, directors, employees, or physician-consultants who have been explicitly or implicitly identified in the demand letters and derivative compla Continue reading >>

Check Out Medtronic's 5,235-sq M Regional Headquarters

Check Out Medtronic's 5,235-sq M Regional Headquarters

Check out Medtronic's 5,235-sq m regional headquarters Meeting rooms were named after UNESCO World Heritage Sites. Medtronic opened its new Asia Pacific regional headquarters in Singapore in May 2016, and it is located at the Mapletree Business City (MBC) II. Comprising 5,235 square meters spread over two floors, it offers green credentials and provides a healthy work environment for its employees, aligned to the Medtronic ethos. The new office, which houses the Asia Pacific Service and Repair Centre of Excellence, will strengthen and support Medtronic operations across 80 locations in Asia Pacific. Medtronic has design standards for all of its global offices but it is the firms preference for every office to have its own individual style. Serene Kee, senior specialist, talent management and development at Medtronic Southeast Asia, shared that in Singapore, they made sure that they are aligned with the global design standards yet still retain regional cultural alignment. For instance, we named our meeting rooms according to our Medtronic Mission and select UNESCO World Heritage Sites to reflect our values, collaborative nature and global mindset, she said. She further explained that last years integration with distributor Covidien gave Medtronic the impetus to giv e the brand a new look and a new voice.It was the biggest acquisition ever done in the medical technology industry at $42b, and prompted the firm to make the new office play a meaningful role in integration efforts to present and engage employees on the new Medtronic brand Further, Together. We achieved that in the overall look and feel of the space through using Medtronic brand colors, furniture, and Mission posters etc, Kee added. One of the key challenges they faced in the transition included navigating th Continue reading >>

Working At Medtronic: Employee Reviews | Indeed.com.sg

Working At Medtronic: Employee Reviews | Indeed.com.sg

Started as a pioneering in Medtronic, started from scratch until the lines were set up and now a high scale manufacturing plant. Manufacturing Manager/Supervisor(Current Employee) Singapore May 14, 2017 I started as Mfg Supervisor responsible for 1 Device Line with 20 operators. It 's a production ramp up during the period. After few months promoted to Sr Mfg Supervisor with added role on Sterilization and Final Pack Area. I was involve on the different Product transfer from other Mfg sites of Medtronic wherein I am responsible for Operators training and certification in Switzerland and Puerto Rico. It was a good learning experienced working a start up company until the company stabilized and now running in full/ fast faced environment. Was this review helpful? Yes2 No3 Report Internship(Former Employee) Jurong West December 27, 2015 I have performed as a technician intern at the technical service department of "Medtronic" medical technology company since September 2015. What I have to do is to calibrate many types of ventilators. I do installation the Chinese software to some types of ventilators first. Secondly, calibration (Short self-test, Extended self-test and so on) is performed. I do packing the equipment lastly. I am also involved in assisting the Technical Service Department Engineers in their routine duties, various department projects and other Ad-Hoc duties. I volunteer to sit in for the service training sessions that are held in the office whenever I am available. My knowledge on calibration has been improved and I have also gained the proper understanding on troubleshooting and how to handle different types of internal components. provided room to exercise own initiative to conduct business Sales Representative(Current Employee) 49 Changi South Avenue 2, Continue reading >>

Medtronic Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Medtronic Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Work hard but management is very cognizant on work/life balance needs (in 157 reviews) Great people, great benefits , great mission statement (in 157 reviews) Good benefits and and good to work (in 155 reviews) Great work environment with better people (in 137 reviews) Great company culture, room for growth in the company (in 114 reviews) Work Life balance is a big issue as the company is very focused on sales numbers (in 136 reviews) Typical large company matrix organization challenges (in 75 reviews) There is no work/life balance in the Diabetes division (in 27 reviews) Very large business; decisions from upper management can feel distant from your experience (in 63 reviews) Use to be a local hometown type company but now its big and global so has the usual big company problems (in 36 reviews) I have been working at Medtronic full-time You can drive healthcare - you can design and execute large projects with significant impact. Doctors look to you as the leader Slow innovation. Terrible Bureaucracy. Lots of senior management turnover. Flag as InappropriateFlag as Inappropriate Current Employee - Engineer in Birmingham, England Current Employee - Engineer in Birmingham, England I have been working at Medtronic full-time(More than 8 years) Absolutely none ! Absolutely none ! Absolutely none ! They treat their employees like slaves, even worse than they treat their customers, and that's saying something ! When they took over Covidien they managed to destroy a really good reputation in less than a year, with poor service and unqualified staff: they fired all the experienced ones, I'm a rare exception. They regularly dip their hand into my pay-packet for almost no reason, don't care about employment law or workers' rights. THIS IS DEFINITELY THE WORST EMPLOYER I HAVE HAD Continue reading >>

Medtronic Reviews In Singapore | Glassdoor

Medtronic Reviews In Singapore | Glassdoor

I have been working at Medtronic full-time(More than 3 years) Pays above markets, products are good and co name sounds a "big deal" but find out more before joining. Sales people will feel "pampered" Weak people managers in sales teams, insecured leaders in SEA leaders blocking career progressions within Organization and undecided marketing efforts. HR and APAC LT please focus on substance over form, talent over good looking reps, reassess your talent "poo" esp when few nice finance leaving, the only decent marketer (though arrogant Lady) leaving and good Sales Managers left. It is obvious your better talents will start anew with new jobs but bad pp will continue to leech on the co as they can't find a better place or better pay to leave for. I worked at Medtronic full-time(Less than a year) A place you can hide and pull a pay-check without being noticed if thats what you want Benefits are OK although there is a strong hierarchical approach, and you need to be in a senior role to get the good compensation. No decision-making, just endless stakeholder management consuming time and sucking your will to live. If you like sitting in meetings with no conclusion this is the place to be. Matrix organisation means there is no clear leadership, and direction is set by various people who are all working towards their own personal agenda. Senior leadership all on ex-pat assignment, so no long term strategy that doesnt reward in the short term is entertained. Lean out the organisation and get rid of the redundant management layers. Engage people on local contracts, who can also think long-term, and give them decision making powers. I worked at Medtronic full-time(More than 5 years) Legacy Medtronic still has a warm and closely knit culture within the existing departments. Medtroni Continue reading >>

Medtronic Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Medtronic Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Fortunate to have spent over a decade with Medtronic, I can honestly say that their mission, direction, and motivation are genuine. I acknowledge as with any company, that financial motives are a key factor in decision making, but I can honestly say that I have witnessed a substantial number of occasions where the patient, customer, and employee come before the financial impact of the situation. This in combination with the direction that our current CEO (Omar Ishrak) is steering us gives me genuine belief in the overarching goal of our company and allows me to sleep soundly at night. On the other hand, between the CEO (and his team) and the employees that are working day-in-and-day-out with the patients exists a completely misaligned and borderline antagonistic component of corporate culture at it worst. I have witnessed far too many examples of corporate 'jockeying' and allowing personal career agendas to supersede good corporate stewardship in the local, Australian market. Now, I understand that it is admirable and more than acceptable to want to advance your career with any organization, but it should never be at the cost of the 'external focus' of the company; which happens to be one of the key-traits for the company. To that note, and as my final recommendation/review, I recommend approaching Medtronic ANZ with caution as the mission will carry us all, but the local politics will make the ride rather uncomfortable. To management (& H.R.), I understand how it can be difficult to keep abreast of everything that is happening when considering the finite amount of time we are given to complete the growing list of tasks. However, it can be deceiving (though efficient) to rely so heavily on the vertical structure that delivers what's happening in our company. Instead, t Continue reading >>

Medtronic Salary | Payscale

Medtronic Salary | Payscale

Survey participants who have worked at Medtronic, Inc. for between five and 10 years earn $85K per year on average. Broken down by tenure, the largest share of Medtronic, Inc. employees (35 percent) have one to four years of experience and earn about $70K annually on average. Earning $99K per year on average, Senior Research & Development (R&D) Engineers receive the most money, followed by Medical Devices Clinical Specialists (around $80K), Medical Devices Quality Engineers (approximately $77K), and Mechanical Engineers ($76K). On the lower end are Medical Device Sales Representatives at $59K on average. When it comes to location, the highest average paycheck ($88K annually) can be spotted in Minneapolis, Minn.; Los Angeles, Calif. (around $83K), Northridge, Calif. ($83K), and Irvine, Calif. (approximately $83K) are the next top-paying cities. Those interested in increasing earning potential should avoid the city of Boulder, Colo. at about $76K, salaries are some of the lowest in the country. By state, the highest compensation levels appear in California, where the average salary is $86K per year. Salaries approach $118K annually for Project Management Professionals; non-accredited workers make much less. On average, salaries rise to around $100K per year for accredited Certified Six Sigma Black Belts. Those with a Master of Business Administration (MBA), Marketing at Medtronic, Inc. come out on top, and their salaries approach $117K annually. Employees who count Project Management among their skills enjoy higher pay; the median for this group is approximately $91K per year. One of the more prevalent skills at Medtronic, Inc. is Engineering Design, with around one in eight considering it a key competency. Microsoft Excel, Data Analysis, and Microsoft Office were also r Continue reading >>

Working At Medtronic: Employee Reviews | Indeed.co.uk

Working At Medtronic: Employee Reviews | Indeed.co.uk

Productive, professional and fun workplace RTG Administrator in Business Support(Current Employee) Watford 27 March 2018 A typical day at Medtronic usually will involve me liasing with our customers and staff in the field either via telephone orr email in order to create legal Agreements so we can sponsor medical educational events. The atmosphere is a very professional one, with a lot of people around who are willing to assist you should you need it. An emphasis is placed on accountability and taking responsibility for your cases. That being said, it is also a fun environment too. Management are usually very available, and approachable with any queries. The hardest part of the job can be from the pressure of getting Agreements created and executed within a very small time frame as some events are organised last minute. The most enjoyable part of the job is seeing cases you have handled run smoothly and when interacting with field staff, customers and colleagues who appreciate your help. Plenty of benefits to work for. Lots of opportunities for development. Senior Distribution Operator - Technician(Former Employee) Watford 8 February 2016 My typical day at Medtronic involved working with medical devices for spinal surgeries (cleaning, functionality checking, replenishing), communicating with various departments within the company (management, customer services,sales representatives), preparing orders for hospitals, receiving and shipping deliveries. Medtronic offers a lot to learn within medical devices and health industry spectrum as well as general processing standards and health and safety at work place. I would say that my immediate managers were very approachable, supportive and motivating and as I worked within small team of four, relationship with my colleagues Continue reading >>

Medtronic Partners With Singhealth To Fight Diabetes

Medtronic Partners With Singhealth To Fight Diabetes

Medtronic partners with SingHealth to fight diabetes Dr. Bee Yong Mong, head of the SingHealth Duke-NUS Diabetes Centre, and senior consultant in the Department of Endocrinology at Singapore General Hospital, shakes hands with Bob White, Medtronic's president of Asia Pacific. SINGAPORE -- Global medical technology company Medtronic has signed a memorandum of understanding with Singapore Health Services to develop a center to treat diabetes in Southeast Asia, as the disease becomes more prevalent in the region. The center will lead the treatment and care management of the disease in Asia Pacific, providing regional education and training for physicians on the latest technologies. Patients will also be given access to innovative technology such as intensive insulin therapy. Singapore's Minister of State for Trade and Industry, Dr. Koh Poh Koon, welcomed the partnership and noted that diabetes is a "serious health issues for Singapore." "This partnership is aligned with our vision for Singapore to partner industry to develop, pilot and scale new models of preventive and value-based treatments to capture new opportunities, while addressing national needs," he added. The Singapore government earlier this year declared war on diabetes -- a disease that is costing the republic more than 1 billion Singapore dollars ($725 million) annually. The city-state currently has over 400,000 diabetic patients, with the number set to grow as its population ages. Increasingly unhealthy eating habits, including foods high in fat, salt and sugar, combined with a sedimentary lifestyle, have caused a spike in conditions like diabetes that were previously more common in Western countries. In Southeast Asia, chronic maladies such as diabetes and heart disease are now the top killers, accounting Continue reading >>

Recall Of Medtronic Stratamr Adjustable Valves & Shunts With Potential Underdrainage Issue

Recall Of Medtronic Stratamr Adjustable Valves & Shunts With Potential Underdrainage Issue

This application is a service of the Singapore Government. Recall of Medtronic StrataMR Adjustable Valves & Shunts with potential underdrainage issue Please note that only an abstract of the Dear Healthcare Professional Letter (DHCPL) is provided here. For instructions on how to access the entire DHCPL, please click here . Medtronic International Limited would like to inform healthcare professionals of the voluntary recall of all unused units of Medtronic StrataMR adjustable valves & shunts due to the potential for underdrainage of cerebrospinal fluid. Medtronics investigation has determined an increase in the occurrence rate of StrataMR complaints, related to incorrect flow or level change in the month of January 2017. Healthcare professionals are advised to return all unused affected devices to Medtronic, and to refer to the value adjustment instructions in the Information For Use for the continued care of patients already implanted with the affected devices. Please refer to the letter for details. Continue reading >>

Working At Medtronic: 1,798 Reviews | Indeed.com

Working At Medtronic: 1,798 Reviews | Indeed.com

Spinal Sales Consultant(Former Employee) Chicago, IL March 21, 2018 Working at Medtronic was kind of like working in the Marine Corps in that employees were expected to work non stop and travel up to 100% of the time for long periods. The only difference was that there was no camaraderie and very little support or help from management. It is absolutely a zero defect environment, so if you take a job with Medtronic you better plan on being a perfect employee. Small mistakes are punished remorselessly and of the 20 or so people with whom I was hired, only two remain employed there. There are great benefits, though. And it's a big company, well positioned to weather the coming healthcare crisis. Medtronic is a very well known company in the medical device industry and specialized in mostly cardiac products. Surgical Products Specialist(Former Employee) San Marcos, CA March 19, 2018 I really enjoyed working for Medtronic and my National Sales Manager was an awesome person. Unfortunately, after trying to sell the new device and having to make several engineer changes on the product, Medtronic decided not to move forward with this new product and closed down this new surgical division. They were very generous to us 3 sales reps and allowed us to get a new job before they stopped our pay. Continue reading >>

Why These 6 Companies Are The Best Places To Work In Medical Sales

Why These 6 Companies Are The Best Places To Work In Medical Sales

A vertical stack of three evenly spaced horizontal lines. * Copyright 2018 Insider Inc. All rights reserved. Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Why These 6 Companies Are the Best Places to Work in Medical Sales What does it take to be included among the best places to work for in medical sales? There are a great deal of factors that make a company a great place to work, including proper work-life balance, great compensation, and a competitive product line. If you're a member of the salesforce in this fast-paced, competitive industry, you want to know the company cares about your needs and values your opinions in the workplace. Smart companies place a great deal of importance on building environments in which employees can thrive. We have compiled a list of those who are doing the best job, and why we think you should consider these companies as you contemplate your next move: Medtronic is frequently listed as one of the best places to work for in medical sales. A poll conducted by MedReps.com found that most medical sales professionals look for a solid product line, a smaller company atmosphere, and healthy work-life balance when in the market for a new job. In these three categories, Medtronic shines. Medtronic seems to espouse the philosophy that building its talent and supporting creativity and leadership among its salesforce is a crucial element of running a successful business. The practices it has put in place created a workforce that is quick to laud the company culture. Employee reviews enthusiastically appreciate the competitive compensation packages, "small business atmosphere," a varied and cutting-edge product line, and work-life balance that is "second to none." Admit it. There are days when you want to pie your manager in th Continue reading >>

June 29, 2011: Review Faults Medtronic Spine Device Studies

June 29, 2011: Review Faults Medtronic Spine Device Studies

June 29, 2011: Review faults Medtronic spine device studies A systematic review of studies on Medtronic's Infuse bone growth product says researchers failed to report harmful effects. An independent study has found that researchers with financial ties to Fridley-based Medtronic Inc. frequently failed to report adverse reactions in patients who received a widely used spinal product. Some 13 studies of a Medtronic product that promotes bone growth in spinal fusion operations have reported zero adverse reactions in nearly 800 surgeries over the past decade. But the new study released Tuesday by the North American Spine Society (NASS) concludes that 10 percent to 50 percent of the patients in the earlier studies actually did have adverse reactions, which the authors either failed to report or attributed to other causes. The study, published in the latest edition of the Spine Journal, focuses on "the evolving safety profile of rhBMP-2," a bone growth product manufactured by Medtronic under the trade names Infuse Bone Graft and Amplify and used widely in spine fusion surgeries. Among the adverse reactions are post-surgical inflammation, cancer, infection and occasional life-threatening complications. A separate study published by the journal suggests that the incidence of male sterility after a specific spine fusion procedure may be higher than previously described by industry-sponsored researchers. Medtronic CEO Omar Ishrak said in a statement that the new study does not raise questions about the data Medtronic submitted in the FDA approval process and that the company believes the product is safe for the uses identified on the label. The company is continuing to study its safety and efficacy, especially in "off-label" applications, he said. Ishrak said the company "has bee Continue reading >>

Medtronic Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Medtronic Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

"very good work-life balance : no need to stay more hours" (in 170 reviews) " Great Benefits at the executive level" (in 174 reviews) " Good benefits and and good to work" (in 172 reviews) "Lot of work-Possible opportunities-Great teamwork-Employee beneficial work environment " (in 144 reviews) " Great company culture, room for growth in the company" (in 123 reviews) " Work Life balance is a big issue as the company is very focused on sales numbers" (in 143 reviews) " Large company so you have to deal with corporate structure" (in 80 reviews) " Upper management lies about motives" (in 71 reviews) "There is no work/life balance in the Diabetes division" (in 29 reviews) " big company , didn't get to know many people" (in 38 reviews) Former Employee - Regulatory Affairs Specialist in Galway Former Employee - Regulatory Affairs Specialist in Galway I worked at Medtronic full-time(More than 3 years) Alot, great company, great perks, great staff, great food, great clubs, great opportunities for growth, great mentors, great trainer, great pay Work life balance slightly unbalanced, however piloted programmes in each department make life easier. Stress levels can be high and atmosphere tense as a result. Keep up being awesome, slightly more transparency in certain situations with new hires and projects, overall hard to fault anything. Flag as InappropriateFlag as Inappropriate Good place to work, nice hours and decent pay. Flag as InappropriateFlag as Inappropriate Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Co. Dublin Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Co. Dublin I have been working at Medtronic full-time(More than a year) Ability to work directly with the patient Flag as InappropriateFlag as Inappropriate Former Employee - Clinical Research Manager in Dubli Continue reading >>

Medtronic Reviews In Singapore, Singapore | Glassdoor

Medtronic Reviews In Singapore, Singapore | Glassdoor

Work hard but management is very cognizant on work/life balance needs (in 157 reviews) Great people, great benefits , great mission statement (in 156 reviews) The company provides Good Benefits (in 154 reviews) Great work environment with better people (in 137 reviews) Great company culture, room for growth in the company (in 114 reviews) Work Life balance is a big issue as the company is very focused on sales numbers (in 136 reviews) Typical large company matrix organization challenges (in 75 reviews) There is no work/life balance in the Diabetes division (in 27 reviews) Very large business; decisions from upper management can feel distant from your experience (in 63 reviews) Use to be a local hometown type company but now its big and global so has the usual big company problems (in 36 reviews) Former Employee - Sales Representative in Singapore (Singapore) Former Employee - Sales Representative in Singapore (Singapore) I worked at Medtronic full-time(More than 3 years) Not much career progression for sales reps (many reps have been doing the same thing for 10+ years) Mediocrity gets you a stable job (as in most organizations) Flag as InappropriateFlag as Inappropriate Current Employee - Supply Chain Analyst Distribution in Singapore (Singapore) Current Employee - Supply Chain Analyst Distribution in Singapore (Singapore) I have been working at Medtronic full-time(Less than a year) I appreciated to work in Medical Company. This is big company and let me learning a lot things ex"how to handle work and communication with other countries customer". This is good experience for me. Flag as InappropriateFlag as Inappropriate Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Singapore (Singapore) Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Singapore (Singapore) I worked at Medtronic full- Continue reading >>

More in diabetes