diabetestalk.net

Medtronic Reviews

Working At Medtronic: 1,798 Reviews | Indeed.com

Working At Medtronic: 1,798 Reviews | Indeed.com

Spinal Sales Consultant(Former Employee) Chicago, IL March 21, 2018 Working at Medtronic was kind of like working in the Marine Corps in that employees were expected to work non stop and travel up to 100% of the time for long periods. The only difference was that there was no camaraderie and very little support or help from management. It is absolutely a zero defect environment, so if you take a job with Medtronic you better plan on being a perfect employee. Small mistakes are punished remorselessly and of the 20 or so people with whom I was hired, only two remain employed there. There are great benefits, though. And it's a big company, well positioned to weather the coming healthcare crisis. Medtronic is a very well known company in the medical device industry and specialized in mostly cardiac products. Surgical Products Specialist(Former Employee) San Marcos, CA March 19, 2018 I really enjoyed working for Medtronic and my National Sales Manager was an awesome person. Unfortunately, after trying to sell the new device and having to make several engineer changes on the product, Medtronic decided not to move forward with this new product and closed down this new surgical division. They were very generous to us 3 sales reps and allowed us to get a new job before they stopped our pay. Continue reading >>

The Yoda Project | Medtronic - Systematic Reviews

The Yoda Project | Medtronic - Systematic Reviews

Yale University contracted with two independent research groups in November 2011 to perform a rigorous systematic review and evidence synthesis to determine the safety and effectiveness of rhBMP-2. After a competitive and open process, Oregon Health & Science University (OHSU) and the University of York were selected. OHSU and the University of York completed independent reviews of the entire body of scientific evidence regarding the safety and effectiveness of recombinant human bone morphogenetic protein-2 (rhBMP-2). The teams had full access to all Medtronics clinical trial, post-marketing and safety data about rhBMP-2. OHSU and University of York independently developed final reports based on their analyses of the rhBMP-2 data (links to the reports are available below). These reports were formally reviewed by expert members of the YODA Project Steering Committees, including orthopedic surgeons, statisticians, and experts in clinical trial design and analysis, as well as by representatives from the manufacturer of rhBMP-2, Medtronic, Inc. The centers refined their reports based on reviewers feedback and peer-review comments made on their manuscripts. Their aims included the following: Identify all relevant studies, across all users and sponsors (i.e., Medtronic sponsored and others). Determine the questions that were addressed by these studies. Evaluate the quality of the studies. Assess the risk of bias associated with the design, conduct, and reporting of each clinical study, including those identified via the systematic review and those provided by Medtronic, and, if present, how bias may have affected assessment of effectiveness and harms. Assessment of study design and conduct should include evaluation of internal validity, methods used to ascertain outcomes and Continue reading >>

Working At Medtronic | Glassdoor

Working At Medtronic | Glassdoor

North America's Most InDemand Employers, LinkedIn, 2015 100 Best Corporate Citizens, Corporate Responsibility Magazine, 2010 North America's Most InDemand Employers, LinkedIn, 2015 100 Best Corporate Citizens, Corporate Responsibility Magazine, 2010 Minnesota Fit-Friendly Worksites Platinum Award, American Heart Association, 2013 Top 50 Companies for Diversity, DiversityInc, 2013 Greater Toronto's Top Employers, Canada's Top 100 Employers, 2013 Best Places to Work in Medical Sales, MedReps, 2016 Worlds Most Admired Companies, Fortune, 2016 Worlds Most Admired Companies, Fortune, 2017 100 Best Corporate Citizens, Corporate Responsibility Magazine, 2017 Top 100 Global Innovators, Clarivate Analytics, 2017 Employees Choice -50 Best Places to Work, Glassdoor, 2010 Best Places to Work in Indiana (Large), Best Companies Group, 2012 Best Places to Work for LGBT Equality, Human Rights Campaign, 2010 Most Admired Companies in Research Science, Black Engineer & Information Technology, 2010 Top 50 Companies for Diversity, DiversityInc, 2012 Top 200 World's Most Reputable Companies, Forbes, 2009 Top 100 Best Places to Work in IT, ComputerWorld, 2009 Best Employers for Healthy Lifestyles (Platinum), National Business Group on Health, 2009 Best Places to Work for LGBT Equality, Human Rights Campaign, 2012 Worlds Most Admired Companies, Fortune, 2008 Best Places to Work in the San Fernando Valley (Large), Best Companies Group, 2008 Continue reading >>

Medtronic Reviews | Careerbliss

Medtronic Reviews | Careerbliss

"The worst place to work for, the management at the Joliet, IL location do not care about anyone but themselves, they will lie right to your face. They make you work almost every Saturday mandated and take away from your personnel time with your family, they do not care about their employees or trying to keep them, they would rather have a bunch of temp employees than regular, and they use the temp employees for 119 days and get rid of most of them and get a new bunch since they're hired on after 120 days, it is sad that the CEO cares about the employees and their families but the people in charge of the Joliet, IL DC do not at all, they look at us as just numbers, when I say management I do not mean the supervisors, they do try but they are treated like crap also and do not take their suggestions, it is the worst company to work for. I hope the CEO will see this and start making surprise inspections and look into the team running this location, they are a sad bunch and have a lot of unhappy employees." Person You Work For 4 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 1 / 5 Support You Get 2 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 1 / 5 "Amazing company. Good culture. Helpful peers." Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5 Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5 "This company is a good company overall. However, this is not a good company for a human factors engineer. There is little room to move up and the manager does not understand the human factors role very well. The manager also avoids any discussion involving career development plans and professional growth opportunities. This has been the worst experience working as an HFE in my career." Person You Work For 3 / 5 People You Work With 5 Continue reading >>

10 Things To Know About Medtronic

10 Things To Know About Medtronic

Written by Shayna Korol| March 09, 2018| Print | Email Medtronic is a global healthcare solutions company and medical device manufacturer. Here are 10 things to know about Medtronic. 1. Earl Bakken and his brother-in-law Palmer Hermundslie founded Medtronic in 1949 as a medical equipment repair shop. 2. Medtronic's first therapeutic offering was a wearable, battery-powered cardiac pacemaker. Today, Medtronic technologies treat nearly 40 medical conditions, including diabetes, back pain and heart issues. 3. Medtronic operates in more than 160 countries with more than 360 locations worldwide. Its principal executive office is in Dublin, Ireland, and its operational headquarters is in Minneapolis. 4. Omar Ishrak has served as chairman and CEO of Medtronic since June 2011. In 2014, he led the acquisition of Covidien, a $10 billion global manufacturer of surgical products and supplies. The Covidien acquisition was the largest medical technology acquisition in the industry's history, and Medtronic moved headquarters to Ireland, where Covidien was located, in a tax inversion strategy. Here is more information on Mr. Ishrak. 5. Medtronic employs more than 84,000 people. The company released a new restructuring plan that is expected to save $3 billion by 2022 and will impact an undisclosed number of employees. The company expects to add $1.6 billion to $1.8 billion in charges over the next five years, with half being employee-related costs; however, the company plans to keep the total employee account steady. Currently there are 9,000 Medtronic employees in Minnesota, the largest concentration of any site worldwide. 6. Medtronic offers posterior occipitocervical upper-thoracic reconstructive systems,radiofrequency ablation system for spinal metastases, spinal cord neurostimulat Continue reading >>

Medtronic Employee Reviews - Niche

Medtronic Employee Reviews - Niche

Medtronics is a good place to work. I am having an excellent work experience. I am a material handler. I pull product that has to be shipped to customer. Great benefits and a company that is flexible with changing working schedules. Benefits include Tuition Assistance Program, excellent health & dental programs. Sometimes lunch is provided. Overall Medtronic is a good company to work for. Of course all corporations have room for improvement. The customer service department could use more help when it comes to entering orders and answering phone calls. I really like company culture. Everyone is very focused on the mission, and the managers are caring. The variety of projects there are to work on is great. But as with any large company, it can be difficult to get things done that require multiple groups involvement. Large company so huge opportunities for advancement but lots of bureaucracy; sometimes creates barriers to completing work, causing delays to project closure. I love working at Medtronic. It is a great environment. Everyone is nice and welcoming. It's also rewarding to know how much you are helping people by working there. There is such a great atmosphere in my department. It is vital that we work together for the greater good of the company. We understand that is products do not get shipped out, then the company will not succeed. Continue reading >>

What It’s Like To Use The Medtronic 670g

What It’s Like To Use The Medtronic 670g

Jason Gensler, person with type 1 diabetes, is the founder of the Foundation for Type One Diabetes and the creator of the synergistic philanthropy model. He’s an out of the box thinker, beer aficionado, coffee connoisseur, and bacon fanatic. He proudly dedicates his life to social entrepreneurship on behalf of the global type 1 diabetes community. Jason is one of the first users of the Medtronic 670G hybrid closed loop insulin pump system, sometimes referred to as an artificial pancreas. He’s been wearing the pump for the last 23 months and is planning to help test the next iteration of Medtronic’s technology. He answered some questions for us about what it’s like to live with this promising new device. Tell us a bit about yourself and your experience with diabetes. How old were you when you were diagnosed with type 1 diabetes, and how did you manage your blood sugars before you started the 670G? I was diagnosed with T1D two weeks after my 16th birthday. My 17 year Dia-versary is on May 10th 2017. Prior to the 670G I was wearing the T-slim pump and using the Dexcom G4 CGM. I managed my BGs as best I could prior to the trial and although I could maintain about a 7.0% – 8.0% A1C it felt like a ton of work. What inspired you to sign up to try the 670G? I have participated in many trials over the last 5 years at the Barbara Davis Center, and have witnessed the progress being made in our industry. I went into the 670G pivotal trial with huge expectations, knowing what was on the line for the diabetes industry, our T1D community, and knowing how many companies are pursuing their own version of an artificial pancreas or ‘automated system’. I applaud Medtronic for their efforts to blaze the trail for the industry. In my opinion, they learned a great deal from the Continue reading >>

Medtronic Salary | Payscale

Medtronic Salary | Payscale

Survey participants who have worked at Medtronic, Inc. for between five and 10 years earn $85K per year on average. Broken down by tenure, the largest share of Medtronic, Inc. employees (35 percent) have one to four years of experience and earn about $70K annually on average. Earning $99K per year on average, Senior Research & Development (R&D) Engineers receive the most money, followed by Medical Devices Clinical Specialists (around $80K), Medical Devices Quality Engineers (approximately $77K), and Mechanical Engineers ($76K). On the lower end are Medical Device Sales Representatives at $59K on average. When it comes to location, the highest average paycheck ($88K annually) can be spotted in Minneapolis, Minn.; Los Angeles, Calif. (around $83K), Northridge, Calif. ($83K), and Irvine, Calif. (approximately $83K) are the next top-paying cities. Those interested in increasing earning potential should avoid the city of Boulder, Colo. at about $76K, salaries are some of the lowest in the country. By state, the highest compensation levels appear in California, where the average salary is $86K per year. Salaries approach $118K annually for Project Management Professionals; non-accredited workers make much less. On average, salaries rise to around $100K per year for accredited Certified Six Sigma Black Belts. Those with a Master of Business Administration (MBA), Marketing at Medtronic, Inc. come out on top, and their salaries approach $117K annually. Employees who count Project Management among their skills enjoy higher pay; the median for this group is approximately $91K per year. One of the more prevalent skills at Medtronic, Inc. is Engineering Design, with around one in eight considering it a key competency. Microsoft Excel, Data Analysis, and Microsoft Office were also r Continue reading >>

First Impressions Of Medtronic's 670g Hybrid Closed Loop

First Impressions Of Medtronic's 670g Hybrid Closed Loop

Anyone touched by type 1 diabetes has to be excited about the FDA's recent approval of the first pre-Artificial Pancreas system, the Medtronic Minimed 670G. It's a milestone towards ever-more-sophisticated automated insulin delivery! Today, we're thrilled to have our correspondent Wil Dubois walk us through a hands-on initial review of this exciting new system. Test-Driving the Medronic 670G, 'Future of Diabetes Technology' Everything about Medtronic’s new Minimed 670G hybrid closed loop insulin pump is so different that it requires a substantial shift in mindset. Like one of those team-building exercises where you cross your hands and fall backwards, counting on your peers to catch you, the 670G requires us to let go of elements of diabetes control that for years have bordered on sacred. Why? Because this pump isn’t like anything we’ve ever seen before. In fact, it isn’t like any diabetes therapy we’ve ever seen before. What the 670G Does and Doesn't Do How many times have you started your day high, even though you went to bed on-target and haven’t eaten for 8, 10, or more hours? How would you like a pump that could see you were drifting up while you slept, and just automatically gave you more insulin to fix the problem? Or a pump that could see that you are drifting down during a hard day’s work and shut off the flow of insulin to prevent a low? That’s the promise of the 670G. It’s designed to track changes in your blood sugar via a CGM, and keep you in target by automatically delivering “micro boluses” or withholding insulin—replacing a traditional fixed basal rate. All 670G users need to do is count carbs and enter them into the pump when they are going to eat. So, how well does it live up to its promise? Well… OK, first things first. The p Continue reading >>

Applicant Help | Medtronic

Applicant Help | Medtronic

Have any questions about the hiring process at Medtronic? Review the information below you may just find the answers you need. We know the application process can be challenging. If youre currently talking with a Medtronic recruiter or hiring manager, reach out to them. Theyre here to help. Stay connected to us. Sign up forjob and event e-mail notifications, and select the how often you want updates from us. Also, our social media platforms are a simple way to keep up to date on the latest job opportunities at Medtronic: Twitter : We're always tweeting about new job opportunities and employee profiles. Find updates from our recruiting teams, hiring managers, and recent hires. LinkedIn : Follow the company's latest news, philanthropic efforts, and find recently posted job opportunities. Facebook : Keep us on your newsfeed as we post about new job listings and our community involvement. See what our employees and interns are doing. YouTube : Subscribe to our YouTube channel. Watch our videos about career tips, opportunities, Medtronic philanthropy, and our role in healthcare globally. Have a question? Weve got answers. Here are the three steps to our hiring process: Once you've identified an opportunity, create an account on our system and start the application process. Youll have a chance to upload your resume/CV, and once your application is submitted, youll receive a confirmation email. You can also check back to see the status of your application in our system. Our Talent Acquisition team works diligently with hiring managers to assess candidates for each job opening. If your application is selected, a member of our team will contact you for a preliminary conversation. This begins the dialog to explore the job requirements and how they align with your skills and goal Continue reading >>

Medtronic Reviews | Glassdoor

Medtronic Reviews | Glassdoor

I worked at Medtronic full-time(More than 3 years) Medtronic is one of the best companies to provide medical products in the world. They have great benefits and mostly good work ethics. I created an unparalleled method to test and diagnose issues for the development of a large scale medical device. During this process my group had mandatory Saturdays. Above and beyond that regularly worked from home after hours, Sundays etc. Upon time for annual review any and all negativity was pin pointed, over done, focused upon. All extra effort not even mentioned. Boss hired friends, relatives, friends of relatives, relatives of his boss, friends of his boss even if they were unqualified and all got great reviews. This man was eternally pissed off, would even shout "I'm pissed off" from his cubicle, I was reprimanded for being too happy. I was reprimanded for emailing my ex-boss. Couldn't look him in the eye after that and he eventually fired me from Senior VnV Engineer position then called the police after I quietly walked out. Avoid management configurations where co-workers from other companies populate management levels. Management knows everything already, they don't need advice. Flag as InappropriateFlag as Inappropriate Continue reading >>

Working At Medtronic In United States: 733 Reviews About Management | Indeed.com.pk

Working At Medtronic In United States: 733 Reviews About Management | Indeed.com.pk

Very demanding work place with constant strategic changes Country Manager North Africa(Former Employee) Algiers May 13, 2017 Medtronic is a very large and powerful place to work in . A great school to learn about the medical device industry, it does however have a very unstable environment . Restructuring happen on a yearly basis . Quarterly results are the only constant focus making any medium term to long term strategy impossible to deliver. the company also is quite short sighted in terms of investing in its markets and could be doing so much better had the focus not only been EBITA . I believe the strength of the company lays in its amazing technology , its management is delivering growth , but could be doing so much better if it focused on proper investments in training and education of HCPs to expand its user base. Exiting job where every single day you have to come with a mind of learning new things due to the fact that new things always come up for you to deal Quality Control Inspector(Current Employee) Mystic, CT May 7, 2017 A typical day at my job starts checking my email messages to make sure that we have all our communication together. We work in an environment of checking and balances where everything and anything in the company has to be seen and audited. Open mind all the time gives you an edge and you learn something every day. Management is always willing to work with you and the culture is diverse. The most challenging part of my job is to influence and persuade the upper management and the most enjoyable part is when you get the go ahead to bring your ideas to the table to work with. 24 hr help line(Former Employee) San Antonio, TX May 2, 2017 Medtronic is awesome just watch out for the contractor. I do believe that they should apply the same benefit Continue reading >>

510(k) Is Deadlong Live Medtronic's Review Agreement With Yale?

510(k) Is Deadlong Live Medtronic's Review Agreement With Yale?

510(k) Is DeadLong Live Medtronic's Review Agreement with Yale? Medtronic Inc. (Minneapolis) recently reported that it is providing a grant to Yale University (New Haven, CT) to conduct two fully independent, third-party systematic reviews of the safety and effectiveness of its controversial Infuse recombinant bone morphogenic protein-2 (rhBMP-2) product, which has been linked to the increased risk of male infertility. In light of the conclusion by the Institute of Medicine (IOM; Washington, DC) that the FDA 510(k) review process is broken beyond repair , Medronic's decision to seek independent review of its problematic recombinant bone product is noteworthy. According to the agreement between Medtronic and Yale, the company will provide the university with all available patient-level data on rhBMP-2 from Medtronic-sponsored clinical trials and all FDA-filed adverse event reports. Yale will assemble a panel of experts and a commission consisting of two academically recognized clinical research organizations specializing in systematic reviews to conduct the analyses. Then, Medtronic will voluntarily make all of its clinical-trial results information on the product available publicly on ClinicalTrials.gov, the clinical-trial registry managed by the National Library of Medicine (Bethesda, MD). Finally, the company has agreed that Yale will develop a novel program to provide researchers access to all data on rhBMP-2--a program that is characterized as unprecedented in the medical device industry because it will provide access to Medtronic's full patient-level datasets. That brings us back to the huge brouhaha surrounding the big "F" that the IOM has handed out to the decades-old 510(k) review process. In the orthopedics area alone, calamities not unrelated to the faulty re Continue reading >>

Medtronic Reviews | Comparably

Medtronic Reviews | Comparably

"To contribute to human welfare by application of biomedical engineering in the research, design, manufacture, and sale of instruments or appliances that alleviate pain, restore health, and extend life." What are some of the best things about your team? Hard working, bright, willing to go the extra mile. What do you like best about the leadership team? Seemingly genuinely trying to improve the company They truly want the company to be great and make decisions based on that. What is most positive about the culture and environment at your company? Everyone seems to be moving towards the same goal What is the best part about your compensation package? Retirement, time off, tuition reimbusement, insurance The ability to make a difference in the lives of people. What's going wrong and how can it be improved? I think that there are be some faster decisions made. What is most positive about the culture and environment at your company? What are some of the best things about your team? I really do like my team. It's what keeps me there. What do you like best about the leadership team? What is the best part about your compensation package? It's pretty average. I didn't come for the compensation even though that should have been a factor. What is most positive about the culture and environment at your company? What are some of the best things about your team? What is the best part about your compensation package? What do you like best about the leadership team? Different backgrounds from different areas What would you most like to see improved at your company? Continue reading >>

Review: Medtronic Minimed 670g | Integrated Diabetes Services

Review: Medtronic Minimed 670g | Integrated Diabetes Services

Physical activity (particularly heavy exercise) Stress (particularly sudden, unexpected crises) Sudden hormone changes (resulting from injuries/trauma, rebounds from lows) Manual Bolus insulin (from injections or inhaled insulin) There are also several limitations to the system which hinder its ability to keep glucose levels within range continuously: Limits to the automated basal adjustment. As described earlier, the automatic basal adjustments are limited in terms of magnitude and duration. The maximum basal is relatively conservative and can only run for a maximum of 4 hours. The minimum basal (zero delivery) can only run for a maximum of 2.5 hours. Sometimes, stronger and longer adjustments are truly needed to achieve and maintain in-range glucose levels, these limits can be well limiting. Sensor reliability. Even when the system is properly calibrated, there will be times when the sensor reports incorrect/inaccurate information to the pump. And the algorithm is only as good as the data being fed into it. Absorption issues. Just because a dose of insulin is delivered below the skin does not mean that the insulin reaches the bloodstream as expected and works as expected. This applies to both basal and bolus insulin. Users must change sites frequently/regularly, rotate properly, and troubleshoot effectively. Undetected pump problems. There is a long list of things that can go wrong! Air in the tubing, displaced infusion sets, partial occlusions, partially (or completely) spoiled insulin, leakage, and unintended disconnection just to name a few. Times out of auto mode. Auto-mode is what we call it when the system is automatically adjusting basal insulin based on data fed into it by the glucose sensor. There are several situations in which the system will phase out of Continue reading >>

More in diabetes