diabetestalk.net

Is Glucose Syrup Vegetarian

Balancing Your Blood Sugar Levels On A Vegan Diet

Balancing Your Blood Sugar Levels On A Vegan Diet

Balancing your blood sugar levels on a vegan diet Getting your blood sugar levels correct can easily be managed through a vegan diet. Alessandra Felice shows us how its done Glucose (the sugar in our blood) is essential to health because its required for the formation of ATP, the energy molecule in our bodies, which is necessary for every organ and cell to function. The two key hormones for blood glucose regulation are insulin and glucagon. When blood sugar is high, such as after a meal, insulin is released and helps to bring glucose circulating in the blood from the breakdown of food into the tissues for use and storage; when blood sugar is low, glucagon is released to break down glycogen (stored form of glucose in the tissues), causing the blood sugar to rise again. The body tries to maintain a constant balance between the two to function properly. But a state of continued elevated blood sugar can have a very negative effect on it as the body must release a consistent stream of insulin into the bloodstream to maintain healthy sugar levels. This will cause the tissues to become what is known as insulin resistant, due to the constant exposure to insulin, which causes more and more insulin to be released to remove circulating sugar that keeps rising as tissues are not responding to insulin anymore. Besides potentially contributing to diabetes, heart disease and other chronic metabolic diseases, long-term blood sugar imbalance may contribute to other conditions like increased fat storage in the abdomen, which is also dangerous for heart health and also cause inconsistent and poor energy. Balancing blood sugar is essential for our mental and physical health! Lets take a quick look at what items or habits are best to reduce or eliminate to avoid blood sugar spikes. Avoid r Continue reading >>

Can Vegetarians Eat Glucose?

Can Vegetarians Eat Glucose?

Would you like to merge this question into it? already exists as an alternate of this question. Would you like to make it the primary and merge this question into it? Doctor of Internal Medicine Psychiatry and Neurology (Board Cert.) Geriatric Medicine (Board Cert.) Addiction Medicine (Board Cert.) Yes. Pure glucose syrup does not contain animal products. It contains no harmful products.It provides instant energy. But donot take excessive of it.anything more than the limit is harmful. Yes. Pure glucose syrup does not contain animal products.It contains no harmful products.It provides instant energy. But donot take excessive of it.anything more than the limit is harmful. Glucose is a sugar used by your body as energy. Glucose syrup has enough water added to the glucose to make a syrup. Glucose fructose syrup is an artificial sweetener. It is found in  certain foods and beverages. Fructose is known as the sweetest  natural sugar. Glucose is sugar that the body needs, and may or may not be same as syrup... Answer 1 Glucose syrup is sugar, used in lollies and other sweet things. Adding glucose to your food instead of using a sweetener, is bad for you. Sweeteners are a better choice than glucose and normal sugar. Simple. Take a cup of sugar and 1/2 cup of water and heat till just thickened. Not too long or it will become a solid. Actually, the above method will not result in glucose. Table sugar is "sucrose" (a mixture of fructose and glucose) and heating it with water does not change this; it remains a mixture of fructose and glucose. (It is not very practical to attempt making pure glucose in a home environment, however many supermarkets sell it in hydrated and powdered form for use in cooking). No, gerbils can not eat human food. Not unless is is an apple or a carrot. Continue reading >>

Ingredients The Sweet Emperor

Ingredients The Sweet Emperor

Glucose syrup, sugar, gelatine, dextrose, citric acid, flavouring, fruit and plant concentrates: safflower; apple; aronia; blackcurrant; carrot; elderberry; grape; hibiscus; kiwi; lemon; mango; nettle; orange; passion fruit; spinach, glazing agents: beeswax; carnauba wax, invert sugar syrup, elderberry extract, carob extract, wheat starch, modified starches: potato; maize, acids: E260; E330, E270, E296; modified potato starch, barley malt extract, colour:copper complexes of chlorophyll, invert sugar syrup, colour: E120, E100; E141; E133, sodium hydrogen carbonate, starch, water, pork gelatine, stabiliser: sorbitol, palm fat, Malic acid, dextrose, beef gelatine, cornflour, natural colour: curcumin; corn syrup, fumeric acid, flavouring, maize starch, vegetable oils (palm; palm kernal). Warning: may have an adverse effect on activity and attention in children. May also contain milk and gluten. Sugar, glucose, flavouring, glucose syrup, acid: citric acid; sodium bicarbonate, natural flavouring, colours: E102; E104; E110; E122; E129; E133 E142. Warning: may have an adverse effect on activity and attention in children. May also contain soya and milk. Sugar; glucose syrup; vegetable fats (coconut palm); skimmed milk powder, salt; flavouring emulsifier: E473; sweetened condensed whole milk; water; hydrogenated vegetable fat; dextrose; citric acid; humectant:sorbitol; gelatine; colour:E120, E100, E141, E133; humectant: sorbitols; acid: pork gelatine; natural flavouring; stabiliser: gum arabic. Warning may have an adverse effect on activity and attention in children. May also contain peanuts, milk and nuts. Sugar, treacle, molasses, glucose-fructose syrup, wheat flour, vegetable fat: coconut; corn starch, invert sugar syrup, liquorice extract, humectant: glycerol; potato starch, Continue reading >>

What Is Glucose Syrup And Is It Vegan?

What Is Glucose Syrup And Is It Vegan?

Are you sure you want to delete this answer? Best Answer: Yes, its most common form is corn syrup. If you add enzymes you can get High Fructose Corn Syrup as well. Really is not something that is good for you (it is nearly pure sugar). Use it very sparingly (like a tsp at a time). I think this question violates the Community Guidelines Chat or rant, adult content, spam, insulting other members, show more I think this question violates the Terms of Service Harm to minors, violence or threats, harassment or privacy invasion, impersonation or misrepresentation, fraud or phishing, show more If you believe your intellectual property has been infringed and would like to file a complaint, please see our Copyright/IP Policy I think this answer violates the Community Guidelines Chat or rant, adult content, spam, insulting other members, show more I think this answer violates the Terms of Service Harm to minors, violence or threats, harassment or privacy invasion, impersonation or misrepresentation, fraud or phishing, show more If you believe your intellectual property has been infringed and would like to file a complaint, please see our Copyright/IP Policy I think this comment violates the Community Guidelines Chat or rant, adult content, spam, insulting other members, show more I think this comment violates the Terms of Service Harm to minors, violence or threats, harassment or privacy invasion, impersonation or misrepresentation, fraud or phishing, show more If you believe your intellectual property has been infringed and would like to file a complaint, please see our Copyright/IP Policy Upload failed. Please upload a file larger than 100x100 pixels We are experiencing some problems, please try again. You can only upload files of type PNG, JPG, or JPEG. You can only upload fi Continue reading >>

The Vegetarian Resource Group Blog

The Vegetarian Resource Group Blog

Posted on May 19, 2014 by The VRG Blog Editor Also known as: HFCS, glucose-fructose, glucose-fructose syrup, fructose-glucose syrup Used in: soft drinks, juice, bread, cereal, granola bars, yogurt, soup, condiments, confections, desserts, ice cream, pharmaceuticals Used as: sweetener, texturizer, anti-crystallization agent Definition: A mixture of simple sugars glucose and fructose, HFCS is produced by microbial enzymes that convert some glucose to fructose. The major types of HFCS contain roughly equal amounts of glucose and fructose. According to Ingredion, We do not create product from cane sugar or animal-derived processes. For information on more ingredients, see To support VRG research, donate at www.vrg.org/donate To join The Vegetarian Resource Group, go to Join The VRG with $35 via our subscription form , and receive the Vegetarian Journal for two years and a copy of Simply Vegan ! The Vegetarian Resource Group (VRG) is a non-profit organization dedicated to educating the public on vegetarianism and the interrelated issues of health, nutrition, ecology, ethics, and world hunger. We have been helping health professionals, food services, businesses, educators, students, vegans, and vegetarians since 1982. In addition to publishing the Vegetarian Journal , VRG produces and sells a number of books . Sign up for our newsletter to receive recipes, ingredient information, reviews of new products, announcements of new books, free samples of products, and other VRG materials. 1996-2018 The Vegetarian Resource Group, PO Box 1463, Baltimore, MD 21203. (410) 366-8343. Email: [email protected] The contents of this website and our other publications, including The Vegetarian Journal, are not intended to provide personal medical advice. Medical advice should be obtained from a qua Continue reading >>

A Beginner's Guide To Vegan Sugar

A Beginner's Guide To Vegan Sugar

Contact Contact Advertise Info About Staff Resources Ask Gaia POF Guides POF Brands What Is Palm-Oil? Read Featured By Category Join Us Jobs Online Selva Scouts Shop As weve learned ten-fold with palm-oil , any natural resource can be corrupted in its journey from plantation to plate. Cane sugar is no different and,for hundreds of years,bone char from cattle has been used in the sugar refining and bleaching process. The Vegetarian Resource Group estimates that if nine pounds of char is produced by one cow, that the bones of almost 7,800 cattle are used in just one commercial sugar filter. Whether you want to be a more strict vegetarian, newly vegan, or just starting a cruelty-free life, you should know that there are many animal-friendly sugar alternatives out there. And theres absolutely no reason that anyone should have to use bone-char filtered sugar or honey to make their favorite treats. Below are 8 common alternative sugars, learn a bit about them all and decide which is best for your next cup of coffee or slice of cherry pie: Sugar beets are primarily grown in the United States and account for over half of our domestic sugar crops. It comes in granulated form but behaves a little differently than your average white sugar. The downside? Pesticide use on this crop is really heavy. From 2009-2010, genetically modified varieties of sugarbeet made up almost 95% of all planted crops. Technically, no organic sugar beets coming out of the U.S. However, it would seem that NOW Foods beet sugar is not genetically modified and is currently seeking verification from the Non-GMO Project. The sweet fruit you soak to make nut milk sweeter also comes in granulated form.Date sugar is a great alternative to brown sugar. These granules are likely smaller than you may be accustomed Continue reading >>

High Fructose Corn Syrup, The Truth About Hfcs

High Fructose Corn Syrup, The Truth About Hfcs

FTC Disclosure:If you make a purchase through a link on this site, I may receive a small commission on the transaction - at no added cost to you. Thank you! Most people have heard of high fructose corn syrup, and most have heard it's not good for you. But can you explain exactly why it's bad? Do you know where it comes from? Exactly what is HFCS (high-fructose corn syrup)? It is a sweetener that comes from corn that has been refined for meal, oil, and syrup. High fructose corn syrup is used in almost every processed food on the market, and helps to preserve foods. Well, on paper, it isn't that bad. It's cheaper than sugar, has about the same number of calories, and allows food to sit on the shelf for longer because it doesn't absorb moisture like real sugar. The problem is that it is much sweeter than sugar, and has infiltrated the marketplace. It's also made from a byproduct of a whole food, and is highly refined and usually genetically modified. High fructose corn syrup is usually the first ingredient in soft drinks and juices, which means that product has more HFCS than any other ingredient. It's also in packaged pastries, and candies, which seems logical. But did you know that many breads, sauces, cereals, condiments, and frozen dinners have HFCS too? Many experts say that our national obesity problem can be linked to how much high fructose corn syrup we currently ingest. Also, studies show that consuming HFCS leads to diabetes and high cholesterol. There is no definitive research yet that proves this to be the case, but there are several theories on why exactly HFCS is so bad for your body. One theory says that fructose converts to fat easier than regular sucrose (sugar), which means there is more fat in your bloodstream. Other theories suggest that it's just the Continue reading >>

Is Sugar Vegan? | Peta

Is Sugar Vegan? | Peta

Have questions about sugar? Weve got answers. The most helpful thing that we can do for animals is to make compassionate choices every time that we spend our money. Eating vegan isnt about perfection or a quest for personal purityits about achieving real change for animals suffering in the food industry. Theres no better way to do that than by always choosing plant-based foods when shopping or heading out to dinner and by leaving animal-derived ingredients off your plate. Weve compiled this list of tips on finding sugar that doesnt use bone char for those who are interested, but we also want to say: Dont stress too hard about sugar if youre unsure about how it was produced. Youre saving more than 100 animals per year by following a vegan lifestyle, and the effect will snowball as people around you, inspired by your choices, may start trying vegan meals once youve shown them how easy it can be. Bone charoften referred to as natural carbonis widely used by the sugar industry as a decolorizing filter, which allows the sugar cane to achieve a white color. Bone char is made from the bones of cattle who were slaughtered in foreign countries and sold to traders in other foreign countries, who then sell the bones back to the U.S. sugar industry. Typically, sugar is made from sugarcane, sugar beets, or coconuts . Beet and coconut sugar are never processed with bone char. Brown sugar is created by adding molasses to refined sugar, so companies that use bone char in white sugar will also use it to make brown sugar. Confectioners sugarrefined sugar mixed with cornstarchmade by these companies also involves the use of bone char. Fructose may, but does not typically, involve a bone-char filter. If a sugar is labeled organic, does that mean its not filtered with bone char? Yes. Certi Continue reading >>

Sugar And Honey: Are They Vegetarian?

Sugar And Honey: Are They Vegetarian?

Some "plain old table sugar" is filtered through charcoal. And charcoal is sometimes derived from animal bone. The sugar in that bag atthe store might come from sugar beets, which don't need filtering,or from sugar cane, which does. But you usually can't tell which by reading the bag. That means thatalthough the sugar itself is not an animal product, it may be filteredthrough charred animal bone before it goes in the bag. And although theanimal bone in question has been altered to such a degree that evenstrict followers of the kosher laws allow it, vegetarianism and kosher Judaism are two completely different things. So I don't recommend using the kosher excuse with your vegetarian guests. It's best to discuss the "plain old sugar" issue with your guests. Ifthey admit to using the stuff at home, you're off the hook! Butif they are adamantly opposed to the useof regular sugar, use evaporated cane juice crystals (unfilteredsugar). These are available in health food stores and better supermarketsunder brand names such as Hain, Sucanat, and Florida Crystals. If these are not available where you live, you can substitute maplesyrup or corn syrup. These are vegan by everybody's definition. (Yes, corn syrup might be produced by an industrial process, butit's not filtered through animal bones. One issue at a time, please.) Keep in mind that using syrup instead of sugar addsa bit more liquid to your recipe. Reduce other liquids tocompensate, so that the result isn't too runny. As for confectioner's sugar (usually used in frostings), this isfinely ground white sugar. you're a bit out of luck there unless you can be certain that the sugar comes from sugar beets. If yourguests are picky about the sugar-and-charcoal issue, use alternativetoppings - a jar of blackberry jam (usually s Continue reading >>

13 Things Vegans Can't Eat (even Though They Seem Totally Fine)

13 Things Vegans Can't Eat (even Though They Seem Totally Fine)

13 Things Vegans Can't Eat (Even Though They Seem Totally Fine) Image: Getty Images/Design: Kenzie Mastroe/SheKnows If you struggle to even flirt with the idea of giving up cheese and eggs, you should know that's only the very beginning for vegans. It's not just the obvious meat and dairy products vegans have to turn up their nose to, it's also a whole list of candies, nuts, juices and even beer and wine. What!? I know. Apparently, there are tons of hidden animal products in foods like these that, on the surface, seem totally animal-friendly. That's the challenge of living a plant-based lifestyle: you've got to know the ins and outs of these undercover animal products. So before you throw your vegan friend a party and assume the lollipops are safe, check out these store-bought items vegans try to avoid and why. White sugar gets its color from a refining process that often involves the use of bone char, meaning even though it's not directly an animal product, it's not vegan. But don't opt for brown sugar, powdered sugar or even raw sugar. All of them are made from refined white sugar. Some sugar manufacturers are certified vegan, so check the company's website or PETA to find out. Or just opt instead for maple syrup or agave nectar as a sweetener. 2. Jell-O, marshmallows, gummy bears, etc. These sweet treats are typically made with gelatin, which is made from collagen that comes from animal byproducts. You should avoid any product made with gelatin. That said, a quick internet search will reveal vegan versions of these and many other gelatin-containing foods. If you're making something from scratch, try substituting an equal amount of agar-agar. Image: Tamelyn Feinstein/Moment/Getty Images While we're on the subject of sweets, be careful of candies in general. That shin Continue reading >>

The Healthy Vegetarian: Sugar 101

The Healthy Vegetarian: Sugar 101

As a dietitian, I am frequently asked about sugar. Is brown sugar better than white sugar? I heard that this type of sugar causes cancer. Is honey good for you? Andsoon Since I get these kinds of questions at work and when out and about, I figured you must have them too! There are actually several different types of sugar which differ based on their molecular structure. However, we use the word sugar as kind of an umbrella term to cover them all. In the simplest terms, sugars are paired into two groups based on whether their individual molecules are paired with a second molecules or not. Those without a partner are monosaccharides and those married to another molecule are disaccharides. For example, the sugar that everyone is most familiar is the white, granulated sugar you use in baking which is made of two smaller sugar molecules bonded together glucose and fructose. Glucose: The most basic molecular building block of sugar. In your body, glucose is important for providing fuel to almost every cell in your body. Fructose: Fructose is the form of sugar you find in fruit. You may recognize the word fructose from the much debated high fructose corn syrup ingredient, but well get to that. Galactose: A form of sugar that is only found in milk. Maltose: Maltose is a combination of 2 glucose molecules. It is created when barley is fermented so youll find it in beer, cereals, and pasta. Lactose: Lactose is a disaccharide composed of glucose and galactose and is only found in milk or milk products like yogurt and cheese. In those with lactose intolerance, their body doesnt have enough of the enzyme lactase to properly digest this sugar which leads to unpleasant digestive side effects. Sucrose: Sucrose is composed of a fructose and glucose molecule. Also known as table sugar, Continue reading >>

Corn Syrup Vs. Brown Rice Syrup?

Corn Syrup Vs. Brown Rice Syrup?

The World's Largest Collection of Vegetarian Recipes Home Community Dine 'n' Dish corn syrup vs. brown rice syrup? Posted by Sarah88 on Jul 06, 2007 Member since Jul 2006 140 posts Could someone please explain the difference between these? Which one works in what recipes and which one is better for you? Posted by Chicyuna on Jul 06, 2007 Member since Oct 2005 124 posts LOL! I'm going to be a bit lazy here and just copy and paste what I found from Wikipedia... "Corn syrup is a syrup, made using corn starch as a feedstock, and composed mainly of glucose. A series of two enzymatic reactions is used to convert the corn starch to corn syrup. Its major use is in commercially prepared foods as a thickener and for its moisture-retaining (humectant) properties which keep foods moist and helps to maintain freshness. It is widely used in products labeled "all natural" in the United States. Because of its mild sweetness, corn syrup may be used in conjunction with high intensity sweeteners. Corn syrup is used to soften texture, add volume, prohibit crystallization and enhance flavor. The more general term glucose syrup is often used synonymously with corn syrup, since glucose syrup is most commonly made from corn starch. Technically though, glucose syrup is any liquid starch hydrolysate of mono, di, and higher saccharides and can be made from starch from any source, of which wheat, rice and potatoes are the most common sources. High fructose corn syrup (HFCS) is a variant in which other enzymes are used to convert some of the glucose into fructose. The resulting syrup is sweeter and more soluble. Until recently, corn syrup sold into the retail market, eg in supermarkets, was a high glucose version. HFCS is also appearing in retail products. The largest by market in the United State Continue reading >>

A List Of Bone Char Free Vegan Sugar Companies

A List Of Bone Char Free Vegan Sugar Companies

A List of Bone Char Free Vegan Sugar Companies Sugar comes from two sources sugar cane and sugar beets. Bone char is widely used by the sugar industry as a decolorizing filter, which allows sugar to achieve its white color. The bone char is made from the bones of cattle from countries like Afghanistan, Argentina, India and Pakistan. The bones are sold to traders who then sell them to the U.S. sugar industry. Bone char is used in many types of sugar including brown sugar and confectioner's sugar. The supermarket brands of sugar obtain their sugar from several different refineries, making it next to impossible to know whether it has been filtered with bone char.Beet sugar is considered vegan because its never processed with bone char. This bone char filter process is unacceptable to many vegans. Even if youre not vegan, you have reason to be concerned about refined sugars and bone char. Due to health concerns, the FDA prohibits the use of bones from the United States meat industry which is why the bones are imported. Also, the bones are required to come from animals that die of natural causes, but no one is monitoring that. Fortunately there are vegan sugars on the market, but it takes a little effort to purchase. If you can't find vegan sugar at your local market, I recommend going online. Here is a list of vegan sugars available on Amazon . If you know of any others, please share. Zulka an Ordinary Vegan favorite and available at most mainstream grocery stores! Continue reading >>

Inverted Sugar Syrup

Inverted Sugar Syrup

Invert(ed) [1] sugar (syrup) is an edible mixture of sugars made by heating up table sugar ( sucrose ). As invert sugar is thought to be sweeter than table sugar [2] [3] and foods that contain it hold in moisture and crystallize less easily, bakers , who call it invert syrup, may use it more than other sweeteners . [4] Though invert sugar syrup can be made by heating up table sugar in water alone the reaction can be sped up by adding lemon juice , cream of tartar or other catalysts often without changing the flavor noticeably. Living organisms have to invert the table sugar they eat in order to get energy out of it. Table sugar is made of two smaller sugars, glucose and fructose , which living cells can break down for energy easily. As living cells cannot break down table sugar directly, they first split it into those two smaller parts by inverting it. Living organisms ' bodily cells invert table sugar using biological molecules called glycoside hydrolase enzymes . The glycoside hydrolase enzymes made in the cells of animals are called sucrases and those from plants are called invertases . The chemical properties of these enzymes allow them to invert sugar without any change in temperature which might hurt the organism. Table sugar (sucrose) is inverted using a kind of chemical reaction called hydrolysis . Heating up a mixture of table sugar and water (called 'a sucrose solution' or 'a solution of sucrose') breaks the chemical bond that links together table sugar's two smaller sugar parts (glucose and fructose) while also breaking up ('lysing', -lysis) a molecule of water (hydro-). The balanced chemical equation for the hydrolysis of sucrose into glucose and fructose is {\displaystyle {\ce {C_12 H_22 O_11 (sucrose) + H_2 O (water) -> C_6 H_12 O_6 (glucose) + C_6 H_12 O Continue reading >>

8 Honey Alternatives That Don't Harm Bees | Peta2

8 Honey Alternatives That Don't Harm Bees | Peta2

8 Vegan Honey Alternatives That Dont Harm Bees Whether its a splash in your pre-sleep tea or a spread on your morning toast, there are many instances throughout a typical week in which you may want to reach for something sweet . But using honey is far from sweet to bees and should be avoided at all costs. In the honey industry , beekeepers often clip queen bees wings to prevent swarming, kill and replace a queen after just one or two years, and artificially inseminate them using drone bees who are killed in the process. These practices are cruel, so add these vegan and cruelty-free alternatives to your food cabinet: A post shared by Tepa Agave (@tepaagave) on Made from various species of agave plants, this delicious substance contains fructose, which makes it perfectly sweet . OK, this ones a bit more nichebut dont stop reading just yet. Coconut nectar is the equivalent of maple syrup but comes from coconut trees. It contains various vitamins, like B and C, along with 17 amino acids. A post shared by Cathy Speronis (@atastyadventure) on Maple syrup is good for more than just topping your pancakes it also works well in hot drinks and as a sweetening agent in many different baking recipes! It occurs naturally in maple trees, and no animals are harmed in its production. This thick, brown syrup comes from raw sugar and is best used in bakingso get cookin. ( Pssst, heres some inspo .) A post shared by Gilbert's Fresh, Hilton (@gilbertshilton) on Also called rice malt syrup, brown rice syrup is exactly what it sounds like: a sweetener that comes from cooked rice starch. It should be used in moderation (like most sweeteners), since its 100 percent glucose. Believe it or not, along with tasting fantastic, yacon root syrup aids in blood sugar stabilization AND weight loss. It e Continue reading >>

More in diabetes